Form builders · pricing
Jotform vs Typeform vs Google Forms: when the free plan stops working for a small team
Prices checked Nov 4, 2026 on the vendors’ own pricing pages and help documentation (US, logged out, before tax). Prices change: confirm at checkout.
Not hands-on testing. We have not used Jotform, Typeform or Google Forms ourselves. This comparison is based on public pricing pages only. How we compare
No affiliate links on this page. If we add any later, each will be labeled “Paid link”. How we make money
The short verdict
- If several people need to edit forms and you don’t need to take payments, choose Google Forms. It’s in Google’s free personal tier. You can add collaborators, and none of the Google pages we checked state a monthly response cap. The trade-off: respondents must sign in to a Google Account to upload files.
- If one person needs payments, e-signatures or high volume, choose Jotform. Bronze costs $34 a month billed annually ($408 a year) and includes 1,000 submissions, 100 payment submissions and 100 signed documents a month. The free Starter plan works for small volumes, but it keeps only 500 submissions in total, then deletes the oldest.
- If 3 to 5 people each need their own login on a self-serve plan, choose Typeform Plus (3 seats) or Business (5 seats). Expect a price range rather than one fixed number: Typeform’s own page showed two price sets on Nov 4.
- Don’t plan on Typeform Free for real work. It allows 10 responses a month across all your forms.
- Don’t plan on Jotform for a multi-editor team. Its standard plans are single-user. Jotform says Enterprise is “the only multiuser Jotform plan,” and that price is quote-only.
Free plans side by side
| Google Forms (personal account) | Jotform Starter (free) | Typeform Free | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Responses | No cap stated on the pages we checked | 100 submissions/month | 10 responses/month, across all forms |
| Stored responses | Uses the owner’s 15 GB Google storage, shared with Gmail, Drive and Photos | 500 in total; the oldest are deleted when full | Not stated |
| Forms | Not stated | 5 | Unlimited |
| Users | Collaborators allowed (number not stated) | 1 user | 1 (multiple users are paid-only) |
| Branding | Not stated | Jotform branding stays on | Typeform branding stays on (removal is a paid feature) |
| Payments | Not stated | 10 payment submissions/month | Paid plans only |
| File upload | Yes; respondents must sign in to a Google Account | 100 MB | Paid plans only |
For File upload questions, Google says uploaded files “are stored in a new folder on Google Drive.” Those files count toward the form owner’s 15 GB. Each row’s source is listed under Pricing conditions below.
When each free plan breaks, and what the fix costs
Every price below has conditions, set out in the Pricing conditions box. “Yearly” means billed annually, and “monthly” means billed month to month. Annual totals are price × 12. Typeform shows a range because its pricing page displayed two price sets on Nov 4.
Scenario A: 1 person, about 80 responses a month
| Tool | Cheapest plan that fits | Cost per year |
|---|---|---|
| Google Forms | Free | $0 |
| Jotform | Starter (free) for about 6 months, until the 500-submission store fills (500 ÷ 80). After that, either export and delete regularly, or move to Bronze | $0, or Bronze at $408 yearly / $468 monthly |
| Typeform | Basic (100 responses/month, 1 user) | Yearly $300–$336 · Monthly $348–$468 |
Scenario B: 3 editors, about 500 responses a month
| Tool | Cheapest plan that fits | Cost per year |
|---|---|---|
| Google Forms | Free (each editor uses their own Google account) | $0 |
| Jotform | No self-serve plan fits. Bronze covers the volume but has 1 user. Three editors means Enterprise | Quote only |
| Typeform | Plus (1,000 responses/month, 3 seats) | Yearly $600–$672 · Monthly $708–$948 |
Scenario C: 5 editors, about 2,000 responses a month
| Tool | Cheapest plan that fits | Cost per year |
|---|---|---|
| Google Forms | Free | $0 |
| Jotform | No self-serve plan fits (1 user). Enterprise | Quote only |
| Typeform | Business (10,000 responses/month, 5 seats) | Yearly $996–$1,092 · Monthly $1,188–$1,548 |
Typeform Plus can go up to 2,500 responses a month with add-ons, but it still has only 3 seats, and the add-on price isn’t shown.
If one person handles Scenario C’s volume alone, Jotform Silver fits at $39 a month billed annually ($468 a year): 2,500 submissions a month, 1 user. Its total storage is 25,000 submissions, though. At 2,000 a month that fills in about 12–13 months, and then the oldest responses are deleted. Bronze stores 10,000, which lasts about 20 months at 500 a month.
If you want Google Workspace anyway
You don’t need Workspace to use Google Forms. Workspace mainly adds business-owned accounts and custom email. Two Google pages showed different prices for Business Standard on Nov 4:
- The Google Forms page lists $12 per user per month with a 1-year commitment, or $14.40 per user per month billed monthly. For 5 users with the commitment, that’s $720 a year.
- The Workspace pricing page lists $14 per user per month with an annual commitment, or $16.80 on flexible monthly billing. Both are shown struck through under an “up to 50% off your first 3 months” promo ($7 or $8.40). A footnote says the price is “only available for the first 20 users added, for 12 months,” for new customers only, and that “Standard pricing will apply to all users after 12 months.” That standard price isn’t shown. For 5 users with the commitment, year one works out to about $735 (3 months at $7, then 9 months at $14). Promos on this page changed between visits on the same day.
The Workspace pricing page doesn’t show the price after the 12-month introductory period. Confirm the price at checkout.
Who should NOT choose each
Skip Google Forms if respondents must upload files without a Google Account. Google says “responders need to sign in to a Google Account” for File upload, and the question type isn’t available for forms in a shared drive. Also, have forms created in a business-controlled Google account rather than an employee’s personal one, so you keep them when staff leave.
Skip Jotform if more than one person needs to log in and edit, unless you’re ready for an Enterprise quote.
Skip Typeform if you want to stay free, or if you need a fixed published price for budgeting. Its pricing page showed two different price sets on the same day.
Gotchas buyers miss
- Jotform deletes old data when storage is full. Jotform’s FAQ says “the system will delete the oldest form response to make room for new submissions.” That applies to paid tiers too, at 10,000 (Bronze) and 25,000 (Silver) stored submissions.
- Jotform’s “$19.” The page summary search engines show says “Paid plans start at $19 per month.” The plan cards we saw start at $34 (Bronze, billed annually), and no $19 plan appears on the page. Confirm at checkout.
- Typeform experiments with pricing. Its help center says “you may see differences between this page, and the plans you see in your account or on typeform.com/pricing.” Its Billing FAQ uses $59 as an example monthly Plus price.
- Typeform annual plans aren’t refunded early. Typeform “does not issue refunds for contracts canceled before the contracted period ends.”
- Jotform: no trial, but a refund window. “If, for any reason, you need to cancel your subscription within 30 days of payment, we’ll issue a full refund.”
- Workspace promos are new-customer, first-20-users offers that change between visits.
FAQ
Is Typeform free?
There’s a free plan, but it allows 10 responses a month across all your forms.
How many submissions does Jotform’s free plan allow?
100 a month and 500 stored in total, on up to 5 forms, according to the Starter column on Jotform’s pricing page (Nov 4, 2026).
Does Google Forms limit responses?
The Google pages we checked don’t state a cap. File uploads use the form owner’s Drive storage.
What’s the cheapest option for 5 editors?
Google Forms on personal accounts, at $0. Among self-serve paid plans with 5 seats, Typeform Business cost $996–$1,092 a year billed yearly on Nov 4.
Pricing conditions
All prices are USD before tax (Jotform says it adds tax at checkout where local rules require). They’re from US page loads, for new sign-ups, at the plan’s included user count. Jotform’s plan cards and the Workspace screenshots were read in a browser; the Workspace browser was signed in to a Google account. Confirm at checkout.
| Price or limit | Conditions | Where we read it (Nov 4, 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Jotform Bronze $34 / Silver $39 / Gold $99 a month | Billed annually; 1 user; no promo shown | Jotform pricing page, yearly toggle (browser) |
| Jotform Bronze $39 / Silver $49 / Gold $129 a month | Billed monthly; 1 user | Jotform pricing page, monthly toggle (browser) |
| Jotform “$19 per month” | Page meta description; no matching plan card; conditions unknown | Jotform pricing page (page text) |
| Jotform Starter: 100 submissions/month, 500 stored, 5 forms, 100 MB uploads, 10 payment submissions/month | Free plan; Jotform branding on; Enterprise is the only multiuser plan | Jotform pricing page: Starter column (browser) and pricing FAQ |
| Typeform Basic $28 / Plus $56 / Business $91 a month | Yearly; 1 / 3 / 5 seats; plan cards | Typeform pricing page, plan cards |
| Typeform Basic $25 / Plus $50 / Business $83 a month | Yearly; comparison table on the same page | Typeform pricing page, “Compare all plans” table |
| Typeform Basic $39 / Plus $79 / Business $129 a month | Monthly; plan cards (“468 / 948 / 1,548 USD total /yr”) | Typeform pricing page, plan cards |
| Typeform Basic $29 / Plus $59 / Business $99 a month | Monthly; comparison table; Plus $59 also in Typeform’s Billing FAQ | Typeform pricing page; Billing & Payments FAQ |
| Typeform Free: 10 responses/month, unlimited forms; multiple users, payment, file upload and branding removal are paid-only | Free plan; Typeform notes it experiments with pricing | Typeform Help Center, Free plan |
| Google Forms: collaborators; File upload needs a Google sign-in; files go to the owner’s Drive | Personal (free) account | Google Forms page; Docs Editors Help (question types) |
| Google Account storage 15 GB | Shared across Gmail, Drive and Photos | Google One Help |
| Workspace Business Standard $12 / $14.40 per user a month | 1-year commitment / billed monthly; Google Forms page | Google Forms page |
| Workspace Business Standard $14 / $16.80 per user a month | Annual / flexible; new customers, first 20 users, 12 months; standard price after that not shown | Workspace pricing page |
| Workspace Business Standard $7 / $8.40 per user a month | “Up to 50% off your first 3 months” promo on top of the above; new customers; limited time | Workspace pricing page |
Sources (all checked Nov 4, 2026)
- Jotform pricing page and FAQ: jotform.com/pricing
- Typeform pricing page: typeform.com/pricing
- Typeform Help Center, Free plan: help.typeform.com
- Typeform Help Center, Billing & Payments FAQ: help.typeform.com
- Google Forms page: google.com/forms/about
- Google Workspace pricing: workspace.google.com/pricing
- Google Docs Editors Help, question types (File upload): support.google.com
- Google One Help, how storage works: support.google.com
Also compare: Kit vs beehiiv newsletter cost · HubSpot Starter vs Pipedrive for a 5-person sales team.
Found an error? Email partnerships@solovetted.com. We note corrections and their date on the page.